

CWC Wheat Bulletin

Grower/Handler Elections Scheduled

In July/ August 2013, the California Wheat Commission will conduct district elections for the positions of Commissioner and Alternate Commissioner for three California grower districts. The wheat grower districts are:

- District 3 Napa, Sonoma, Yolo, Amador, El Dorado, Placer, Yuba, Nevada, Sutter, and Sierra Counties, and that portion of Sacramento County lying north of Road J-11 and east of the Sacramento River from Walnut Grove to Courtland;
- District 7 Fresno County; and
- District 12 that part of Imperial County lying north of Keystone Road.

A qualified producer member or alternate is defined as any person who is engaged within this state in the business of producing wheat for market during any of the preceding three marketing seasons, and who must reside or conduct farming operations in the district in which the election is to be held.

Interested individuals may obtain a nomination petition via the Commission's website or by calling the Wheat Commission office at (530) 661-1292. To be included on the ballot, completed nomination petitions must be returned to the Commission no later than July 12, 2013.

June 28, 2013

The four handler positions (two Commissioners and two Alternates) on the California Wheat Commission are also up for election this year. Handler members are elected in a statewide election in which all active wheat handlers may vote. The Commission requires a written expression of interest from potential handler nominees by July 12, 2013.

Involvement in the California Wheat Commission enables producers and handlers to determine the Commission's program and budget priorities. The Commission is also active in several national organizations, giving Commissioners a direct role in major industry issues. The term of office for Commissioners and Alternates is three years.

In addition to the districts up for election, there are Commissioner vacancies in:

- District 2 (Butte, Colusa, Glenn and Lake);
- District 10 (Santa Barbara, SLO, Monterey, San Benito and Santa Clara); and
- District 11 (San Bernardino, Riverside, San Diego, Los Angeles, and Ventura.)

Interested growers in these districts may contact the Commission to obtain a petition.